News ID: 187851
Published: 0759 GMT February 17, 2017

Iran retains world FS title in thrilling bouts

Iran retains world FS title in thrilling bouts

Sports Desk

Iran’s 125kg wrestler Komeyl Qassemi had a heavy duty in the title-deciding final against Nick Gwiazdowski from USA that was one win shy of the championship in the 2017 Freestyle World Cup in Kermanshah, western Iran.

Qassemi poured cold water on the American team as the superheavyweight phenom bagged five points and denied his rival any to send the crowd packing the hall wild with applause.

The win helped Iran beat USA 5-3 in the final showdown.

The shocking moment came as the 74kg gold medalist of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, Hassan Yazdani Charati, representing Iran in the 86kg was pinned by David Taylor, conceding an 8-4 loss.

In the first bout, Iran’s 27-year-old Hassan Sabzali Rahimi (57kg) prevailed over US freestyle wrestler Anthony Ramos 6-0.

In the 61kg weight class, Logan Stieber conceded a 2-6 defeat to Iran’s Masoud Esmaeilpour-Jouybari.

Iranian wrestler Meysam Nasiri overcame Frank Aniello Molinaro 5-4 in the 65kg weight class.

Additionally, Mostafa Hosseinkhani defeated his American opponent James Green 2-0 in the 70kg category.

In the 74-kg class, American world and Olympic champion Jordan Ernest Burroughs ended Iranian wrestler's winning streak by going to great pains to clinch a narrow 3-2 victory over Peyman Yarahmadi.

Later, Yazdani Charati lost to American wrestler David Taylor 8-4 by a technical fall in the 86kg class.


Iran’s Amir Mohammadi was not successful in his Herculean task to overcome Kyle Frederick Snyder in the 97kg, and was outmuscled by him 6-0.

And finally, Qassemi's emphatic win helped Iran defend its world title.

The 2017 Freestyle World Cup kicked off on February 16 and wrapped up the next day.

Azerbaijan finished in the third place after defeating Turkey in the bronze-medal playoff that ended 7-1.

Russia ended in the fifth place after downing Mongolia 7-1, and Georgia stood seventh after emerging victorious from its match with India 7-1.

In 2016, Iran had also been crowned champion of the 2016 games.


Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 1/8175 sec