News ID:175482
Publish Date: Tue, 10 Jan 2017 18:54:05 GMT
Service: Sport

AFC Beach Soccer Championship Malaysia 2017 draw concluded

AFC Beach Soccer Championship Malaysia 2017 draw concluded

The 13 teams set to participate at the AFC Beach Soccer Championship Malaysia 2017 learned their opponents on Tuesday when the tournament’s official draw took place in the Malaysian capital.

The tournament will be held in Pantai Batu Buruk, Kuala Terengganu, in Malaysia during March 4-11, reported. 

Reigning champion Oman was drawn in Group B and will begin the defense of its title against Lebanon, Uzbekistan, and Thailand.

Japan, runner-up to Oman in 2015, is looking to claim a third title following its wins in 2009 and 2011, and has been drawn in Group C alongside 2007 and 2008 champion the UAE, Iraq and Qatar.

Meanwhile, 2013 champion, Islamic Republic of Iran will meet Bahrain, China PR, Malaysia and Afghanistan in Group A.


AFC Beach Soccer Championship Malaysia 2017 Groups


Group A: Iran, Bahrain, China PR, Malaysia, Afghanistan

Group B: Oman, Lebanon, Uzbekistan, Thailand

Group C: Japan, UAE, Iraq, Qatar


The group winners and the best second-placed team from the three groups will qualify for the semifinals, the winners of which will advance to the final.

The top three teams will fly the Asian flag at the 2017 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in the Bahamas which is scheduled to begin on April 27.

Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/4424 sec